If you’re looking for some paddling, Ohio is the perfect haven for you in the Midwest, full of lakes and laid-back rivers. Ohio is quite famous amongst kayakers and canoeists from all over the globe. Three thousand rivers, 60000 lakes, and reservoirs, these great numbers are from nowhere but Ohio. The famous Lake Erie and Buckeye State boast all these numbers. With so many ponds, lakes, rivers, and streams, Ohio have a lot in store for water sports veterans and beginners.
One of the most prominent ways to explore and have a tour of Ohio is through kayaking. You can enjoy ice-fishing, snowballing, and ice skating during winter days when most of the lakes are frozen. This doesn’t mean that you can’t spend your summer here; swimming, fishing and boating are still the best adventures you can try out.
However, it would be great to know about specific rules and regulations that the government sets to protect an individual, environment, and their property before you get into it blindly and plan your trip along with your best buddies.
This article is all about Ohio Kayak Laws that you should be aware of to ensure you’re safe.
What are some specific laws that anyone has to abide by if they want to enjoy their time to the fullest while kayaking in Ohio? , stick with me for a few minutes, and you’ll be an expert in regards to Ohio kayaking laws.
Ohio Kayak Registration
Motorized kayaks always require a traditional registration and show OH numbers along with designated tags. Your registration sticker should be displayed on the boat, and you should always carry an extra copy of the registration with you on the vessel. The registration will be valid for three years and expires on 1st March.
Non-motorized kayaks or canoes are not required to be titled, but the OH number and tags from any alternative registration agent.
Kayakers are allowed to bring legally registered kayaks and canoes from other states in Ohio but only for up to 60 days. The only condition applied here is that you must abide by your home state’s rules, Ohio’s kayaking rules, and regulations. You need to carry the proof of residency along with the state’s registration proof. And, if you’re coming to Ohio to participate in any kayaking competition, then you don’t have to register your kayak.
Ohio Kayaking Age and Education Restrictions
A boating license is a must for any visitor as proof because it can assure the officials at Ohio that you have competent boating skills to operate a boat safely on Ohio’s public waterways. For those paddlers born after 1st January 1982, their motorized kayaks should use more than ten horsepower engines.
Paddlers between the ages of 12-15 can only bring personal watercraft (PWC), where they’ll be under the supervision of a certified official.
Ohio Kayaking Alcohol (OUI) Restrictions
Nobody can operate any water vessel while being under the influence of any drug or alcoholic beverage. They can be mentally or physically incapable of performing things from a safety point of view. Being a kayaker, you should be prepared to undergo several chemical tests like blood, urine, and breath.
Anyone whose BAC(blood alcohol content) comes out to be 0.08% will be considered intoxicated or operating under the influence(OUI). These rules sometimes get more extreme if you’re above 21 and your BAC rating is more than 0.02%, then you’ll be a victim of a law violation.
An OUI offense can cause you summoned by a penalty or jail term. The minimum sentence can be 72 hours jail time or a penalty amount of $150 for a first-time offender, whereas the maximum penalty can be a jail time for one year or a penalty amount of $1000 fine for third-time offenders.
Ohio Kayaking Life Jacket Laws
Every vessel must carry the United States Coast Guard (USCG) personal floatation device (PFD) for every person on board, and wearing it is mandatory on Ohio waters.
People under the age of 10 must have their respective USCG-approved PFD at all times, be it when aboard a kayak or any other water vessel that’s doesn’t exceed 18 feet.
The Ohio Department of Natural Resources though it only requires children under 10 to wear life jackets. Their website states that approximately 80 to 90 percent of all boating injuries and fatalities are due to drowning. This situation will not have come if the victims practice wearing PFDs.
Kayakers or paddlers on vessels longer or equal to 26 feet should carry at least one Personal Floatation Device (PFD) that USCG approves, either a ring buoy or a seat cushion.
These strict constraints should be interpreted as a safety concern for each individual, seeing that canoes and kayaks are the second leading causes of injuries and fatalities of Ohio waterways.
Kayakers always have the option to choose from Type 1, 2, 3, or 5 life jackets to fulfill this requirement.
Ohio Kayaking Light and Signal Laws
Kayak operators are required to bring electric white light or battery-powered waterproof lanterns. That light should be intense enough to be seen by other boats within time to prevent any collision.
The Ohio DNR has made this mandatory that if you’re kayaking after sunset in the evening, you must carry red or green light signals that are visible even from one mile.
A waterproof battery-operated lantern available at most sporting goods stores can be strapped to the hull at the back to comply with this requirement effectively.
Visual distress signals are not mandatory on most lakes and rivers, but boaters should always carry a distress flag or USCG-approved distress signal during the daytime. The dimension of the flag should not be anything less than two square feet to make it easily recognizable from a distance.
On the other hand, kayaks and canoes that are 16 feet or longer, operating on the waters that are controlled federally, like Lake Erie and its substitute connecting harbors, anchorages areas, and bays, must carry a distress signal that the U.S Coast Guard should approve especially between sunrise and sunset.
The signal should be readily visible and used only when a person or vessel is in danger. You can also use a flare or a blinking flashlight as distress signals when in danger.
Ohio Kayaking Audible Sounding Devices Laws
A noisemaker or a device for audibly signaling is essential for all motorized or non-motorized vessels under 12 feet only if they are kayaking through these water bodies, The Ohio River, Lake Erie, and The Muskingum River.
The sound produced by the sounding device should be efficient enough to last for at least 4-6 seconds, which is audible from half a kilometer.
The best example that can fit this requirement is using a whistle used by police or lifeguards. Your average human voice will not work in this situation.
Ohio Kayaking Laws Fire Extinguisher Requirements
You are not permitted to carry a fire extinguisher onboard doesn’t matter whether it is motorized or non-motorized kayaks under 26 feet. The worst thing that can happen is a fire on your boat with no way to extinguish it, especially if you’re far from the shore.
However, it’s still not a bad idea to prepare for the unknown by carrying a small class B-I fire extinguisher yourself.
Ohio Kayaking Accident Reporting Requirements
Any operator must submit a recreational Boating Accident Report if something mishappens with him or he gets involved in the following accidents:
- Any damage to the property above or equal to $500 or complete loss of the vessel.
- Injuries that can’t be cured of essential first-aid treatments.
- Disappearance or sudden death of any individual.
These accident forms can be derived from Watercraft Field Office, or if you’re not reachable, you can also download them from their official website. The operator should not take more than five days to fill and submit these forms utmost. But, in case of the death of someone, the state should be submitted within 24 hours from the timing of the event.
The information asked in the forms captures statistical data that reveals the effectiveness of safety standards and boating regulations, investigating the core of accidents, determines remedies for boat defects.
Contacting the Ohio DNR, Division of Watercraft for any emergency about boat accident and reporting them about your requirements and submitting the official Boat Accident Report Form.
Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Division of Watercraft
2045 Morse Road Building A
Additional Ohio Kayak Laws
- You can’t walk in, sit or stand in designated places, not for any movements, to reduce injuries or boating fatalities.
- The authority has prohibited throwing litter or garbage on water banks or in a waterway where the water waves can bring it back into the water.
- Kayaks should be operated with great caution and prudence. Any sort of disregard for the safety measures and rights of any person, vessel, or property will be punishable.
Ohio Kayaking Laws Enforcement
A municipal police officer, marshal, police constable, deputy marshal can enforce Ohio’s watercraft rules and regulations. It would help if you never tried to run away(flee) from the authorities or enforcement officers.
One important thing to keep in mind is to stop whenever you see a blue flashing light approaching you; they are the law enforcement official’s vessels.
Que.:- Do you need a license for a kayak in Ohio?
Ans:- No, You don’t need any license to use non-motorized kayaks or canoes in Ohio’s water.
Que.:- Do you have to wear a lifejacket in a kayak in Ohio?
Ans:- Yes, every vessel must be equipped with at least one wearable personal flotation device that too is approved by United States Coast Guard. Children below ten years of age must wear a PFD if aboard in a less than 18 feet long vessel.
Que.:- How much does it cost to register a kayak in Ohio?
Ans:- $77.25, This is how much you’ll need to title a kayak. The registration cost for kayaks or canoes is relatively cheaper because it costs $12.25 per year only.
Now that you know that these laws are the requirements for paddling in Ohio, you can safely navigate the thousands of lakes and waterways available in Ohio.
Early spring every year is the best time to get your gear in order and make sure that you are set for summer. These Ohio Kayak laws are in place to protect people, vessels, property, and the environment.
Having fun, and keeping in mind that you can also help keep our lakes and waterways clean and safe.
Don’t forget to buy and pack all the equipment required there, a hat or helmet, lights, spare paddle, visible and audible signals, including the PFDs.
You’re ready to blast the bubble of enjoyment this summer. Cheers!